Other People’s Words of Wisdom

I have filled hundreds of notebooks with other people’s words of wisdom.  This is probably the way I cope with never having close role models.  My Grandparents were good people with decent values but I tend to think deeper and bigger than most people around me.  So to those whose words I have returned time and time again, I Thank You.

I share a few of these now in no particular order.  Maybe someone will find some comfort in them as I have for so long.  If I misquote these or give credit to the wrong person I apologize.  Please don’t sue me.  I am simply putting down here some of the many millions of things that roll through this gray matter I call my brain.  Best wishes!

 

“It isn’t joy that makes you feel grateful, it’s being grateful that makes you feel joy.”     unknown

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you did not do than by the ones you did.  So throw off the bow lines, sail away from the safe harbor, catch the trade winds in your sails, explore, dream and discover.”     Mark Twain

“If you find yourself in a hole, the first thing to do is stop diggin’. ”    Will Rogers

Periods of tranquility are seldom prolific in the process of creative achievement.  Human kind must be stirred up.”      Alfred Whitehead

“Add moonlight for contrast and shadowy suspense.  Add sunlight for bright clarity and illumination.  Mix them both in your soul-palette and become the horizon, spreading into your full expanse.”    Anguis

“In the course of history, there comes a time when humanity is called to shift to a new level of consciousness, to reach a higher moral ground.  A time when we have to shed our fears and give hope to each other.  That time is now.”    Wanger Maathai

“The earth does not belong to us.  We belong to the earth.”    Chief Seattle

“To understand something is to be liberated from it.”    (not sure where this came from)

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”    Dr. Seuss

“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure,  I make mistakes,  I an out of control and at times, hard to handle.  But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”    Marilyn Monroe

“Be yourself, everyone else is already taken.”  Oscar Wilde

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.”    Bernard M Baruch

“Two things are infinite –  the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.”    Albert Einstein

“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching  love like you’ll never be hurt, sing like there’s nobody listening and live like it’s heaven on earth. ”    William W Purkey

“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.”     Dr. Seuss

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”    Marcus Tullios Cicero

“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”    Mae West

“Be the change that you want to see in the world.”    Mahatma Gandhi

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”    Robert Frost

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: “What!  You too?  I thought no one by myself…”     C S Lewis  The Four Loves

“Love is the only way.”    Flea of the Red Hot Chili Peppers

“A society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in.”    Greek Proverb

“Speak softly and carry a big stick.  You will go far.”    T Roosevelt

“Never a lip is curved with pain that can’t be kissed into smiles again.”    Bret Harte

“Art is never finished, only abandoned.”    Leonardo de Vinci

“All the rivers run into the sea, yet the sea is not full.”    King Solomon

“Things do not happen.  They are made to happen.”    John F Kennedy

“We must use time as a tool, not as a couch.”    John F Kennedy

“We must be our own before we can be another’s.”    R W Emerson

“The buried talent is the sunken rock on which most lives strike and flounder.”    Fredrick William Faber

“There’s always something left to love.  And if you ain’t learned that, you ain’t learned nothing.”    Loraine Hansberry

“My painting does not come from the easel.”    Jackson Pollock

“We forget that the water cycle and the life cycle are one.”    Jacques Yves Cousteau

“I am fond of pigs.  Dogs look up to us.  Cats look down on us.  Pigs treat us as equals.”    Winston Churchill

“We are not human beings having a spiritual experience, we are spiritual beings having a human experience.”  (not sure where I originally got this but I have seen it many times since I first wrote it down.)

“Don’t walk behind me, I may not lead.  Don’t walk in front of me, I may not follow.  Just walk beside me and be my friend.”    Albert Camus

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”  Eleanor Roosevelt  This is my story 

“If you tell the truth, you don’t have to remember anything.’    Mark Twain

“A friend is someone who knows all about you and still loves you.”    Elbert Hubbard

“Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.”    Oscar Wilde

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”     Maya Angelou

“Live as you were to die tomorrow.  Learn as if you were to live forever.”    Mahatma Gandhi

“Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans.    John Lennon

“Beauty is whatever gives joy.”    Edna St Vincent Millay

“We cannot become what we need to be by remaining what we are.”   Max de Pree

 

“When the power of love takes over the love of power, that’s when things will change.”    Jimi Hendrix

“Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.”    Albert Einstein

“The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds the most discoveries, is not “Eureka”, but “That’s funny….”    Issac A Simon

“In science, being completely and utterly stuck can be a good thing, it often means a revolution is coming.”    Michael Brooks

“God does not play dice.”    Albert Einstein

“Einstein, stop telling God what to do. ”    Neil Bohr

Knowledge speaks, but wisdom listens.”    Jimi Hendrix

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

